Veils

My throat aches and my eyes weigh

Down to my chest I’ve held pains far too long.
Finally they are leaving this body, they are detaching from this mind

I feel the cry of fear of the 16 year old and the loneliness of the 14 year old.

I recall the wisdom of the 15 year old, speaking of her life to come with far too much foresight into the difficulties to be faced

And now I see those things, through a veil.

Parts of myself disjointed and disconnected through veils and veils of experience, minds heard, hearts held.

Damaged goods.

Strange what life does to you.

the spotless children with keen minds and intent eyes see more than we do know what is to come.

 

One thought on “Veils

Leave a Reply

